Perast is situated in Gulf of Kotor (Boka Kotorska) cuts deeply into the coastline of the southern part of the Yugoslav Adriatic, creating four spectacular bays ringed in mountains, the “fjords” of the Mediterranean. The little town of Perast is situated at the foot of St. Elijah Hill (873 m), opposite the narrow Verige strait, where the innermost bays of Risan and Kotor converge. This easternmost shore was the earliest inhabited area in the Boka. The remains of a Neolithic culture (3500 BC) have been discovered in the caves of Spila above Perast and various archeological finds provide evidence of civilization dating from Illyrian, Roman and early Christian periods.
Preceded by two jewel-like islands, Perast is focused on the sea. From the interaction between mainland and bay, the inherent contrast of stone and water, the dialogue of island and wave, sometimes in harmony but often in conflict, this sea-faring town has derived its unity, strength and sense of purpose. Despite its size, a sophisticated urban structure has arisen, demonstrated by the proportion, scale, massing and rhythm of the great number of public buildings, especially along the waterfront.
Under Venice (1482-1684), no continuous defensive barrier was erected around this exposed and fragile settlement on the border of the Ottoman Empire. In 1570, only the fortress, St. Cross, rose above the town. However, within the town a chain of ten watchtowers, called “cardaci”, presented a well-devised system of checkpoints to protect against attacks. These characteristic towers contributed to the unique appearance of Perast.
Our Lady of Rock is picturesque island off the shore of Perast with a church of same name on it. It is an artificial island made by deliberate accumulation of stone pieces and of old sunken our seized ships loaded with stones- all that around an existing rock. It is legend that accounts for the undertaking reportedly, the fisherman of Perast found wonderworking icon of the Virgin Mary with Child on the rock- the one which now occupies the main altar of church. The original church build on the recently formed islet in middle 15 century was small in size. Since the islands area expanded gradually, the church could be enlarged, too. It became sacral place of the seamen from the Kotor Gulf and so additional construction works time after time. The most prominent part on the front facade is the decorated portal with a fronton. On the frontal there is small archaically looking statue of Virgin child.
The presbytery houses rich collection of diverse icons ranging from archeological finds, portraits of ships from different periods and other paintings, to the items of craftsmanship and things for everyday use.
St George's church is small island off the Perast shore with a church of the same name. Established by the Benedictines, the abbey was first mentioned in 1166 in documents describing the consecration of the new, second Romanesque church of St. Tryphon in Kotor. The occasion was attended by, among others, Ivan, the abbot of St. George. However, in studying various ornamentation on this structure, it can be concluded that the abbey was already in use by the Benedictines as early as the 9th century. Except for certain details, the appearance of the old church has not been preserved. The island was constantly under attack both by invaders and earthquakes, especially the great earthquake of 1667 when the ceiling and apse collapsed during the Easter service. Following this catastrophe, a simple church was built. Its tombstones contain a unique collection of heraldic emblems from the casadas of Perast. It remained a burial place until 1866, when a new graveyard was built in the northern part of the town. The church once housed paintings dating from 1327 and 1457; the latter painted by Lovro Marinov Dobricevic, a famous painter from Kotor.